Emory University School of Medicine, a component of Emory’s Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center, is ranked among the nation’s finest institutions for biomedical education. The School of Medicine is located on the main Emory University campus in the Druid Hills section of Atlanta and in Emory-owned and affiliated medical facilities throughout metropolitan Atlanta.
The School of Medicine’s three-part mission encompasses teaching, scholarship, and service. Its wide-ranging educational and training programs include medical students, graduate students, residents, fellows, postdoctoral students, and students in the allied health professions. In 2010, the School received 43 applications for each first-year position. In addition to 455 medical students, the school trains more than a thousand residents and fellows in 74 accredited primary care and specialty medicine programs. It also includes 61 MD/PhD students, including some in a joint program with the Georgia Institute of Technology. The MD/PhD program is one of 34 selected for sponsorship by the National Institutes of Health. Students also may earn the MD/MPH degree or the Master of Science in Clinical Research degree through joint programs with the Rollins School of Public Health. Six allied health programs train 390 students. Allied health programs include a physician assistant program ranked third in the nation by US News & World Report and a physical therapy program ranked eighth. Nearly 7,000 physicians and other health care professionals come to Emory each year to participate in one of the nation’s largest and most successful continuing medical education programs.


1648 Pierce Dr. NE
Atlanta, GA USA 30322
Phone: 404-727-5640
Fax: 404-727-0473